Inconsistent Filter Tuning?

Inconsistent Filter Tuning?
« on: November 26, 2018, 02:05:08 PM »
Hey all, hoping someone might be able to help out here or to tell me I'm on a fool's errand (I'm pretty new to the synth world but have got the bug bad, my poor neglected guitars hate me). I've begun exploring the FM possibilities of the rev2 and can't get the filters all perfectly in tune, making some notes, especially when audio mod is applied, sound really sour. Is this to be expected or is there something I'm doing wrong? I've recalibrated many many times per Razmo's recs as well as without clearing calibration data, all after my synth has been warmed up for quite some time. Using a digital tuner plugin, I've checked the tuning of the oscillators (which is perfect) and the filters (which aren't). I've got a 16-voice running 1.1.4.27. The settings I'm using to test the filter tuning are what I've used as a a starting point for a basic FM patch but without audio mod:

Init Patch, then
OSC1 - Triangle
OSC2 - Off
OSC MIX - 127
Cutoff - 24
Resonance - 127
Key Amount - 64

Through many recalibrations the amount each voice's filter is off seems to be fairly consistent, where the first 4 voices of each card seems to be more or less on then the last 4 are further off. Here's the average deviation in cents of playing C4 for each voice with the settings above:

A0 - 0
A1 - 0
A2 - -1
A3 - 0
A4 - -7
A5 - -8
A6 - -4
A7 - -4
A8 - 0
A9 - 0
A10 - -1
A11 - -3
A12 - -8
A13 - -11
A14 - -6
A15 - -9

If I turn off OSC1, the tuning of the filter changes (maybe due to the slight oscillator bleed?) so that all the filters are between 1 and 8 cents sharp, with most being about 5-6 cents sharp.

Sooooo, is it even possible to get the filters all perfectly in tune or is this just asking too much of an analog synth, OR, as I imagine to be the most likely answer, is my noobishness the problem here. Any insight anyone can provide would be much appreciated!

Razmo

• I am shadow...