Tempest - Midi - mute all sounds

Tempest - Midi - mute all sounds
« on: December 27, 2016, 06:48:00 PM »
Hey all!

I'm not that familiar with Midi and am looking for some expert advice. What I want to do may or may not be possible with the gear I have, if it is, I cant figure it out. Im probabaly the first one to ever try and figure out how to accomplish this.

Im a drummer primarily, but I use the tempest as a percussive layer in my playing. Currently, I have the Tempest driving my Metronome via midi (which is always playing throughout the song) and I use a Boss line selector pedal to mute and unmute the tempest for dynamics. Because I am just muting and unmuting the sounds, I dont have to stress about re-starting a sequence in perfect time and can focus on other things in my performance. Its pretty fool proof as long as I stay in time with my metronome. This setup works for me, but I would rather mute and unmute sounds with an electronic drum pad than a guitar pedal.

There is a device made by Roland called the TMC-6 (trigger midi converter). This unit is designed to have electronic drum pads hooked into it and when the pads are hit, they are converted to midi data. I am trying to use the midi cc in the TMC to either mute all sounds on the tempest or pan hard right. I would prefer to mute, but panning is just a secondary option. If I can pan hard right on the main outputs, I only have the left going into my external mixer anyway, so it would essestially mute it everything. However I end up doing this, its crucial that the sequencer never stops running or else it would turn off my metronome. Also, I usually have many voices playing in a sequence.. so when I un-mute, its crucial that all these voices are turned back on as they originally were.