Trying to decide a sequencer set up.

LoboLives

Trying to decide a sequencer set up.
« on: December 04, 2016, 03:48:33 AM »
I've said it before and I've said it again...I'm a huge John Carpenter fan and I'm a huge fan of sequencers. I'm trying to decide which set up I should go for. Currently I have the Moog Sub 37 doing most of the sequencing but that can get redundant fast as it's only a single track with a single patch and it can't be chained.

What I need is
A.) The ability to have different patches for each sequencer track.
B.) The ability to ratchet steps (ala Tangerine Dream)
C.) The ability to chain sequences together (I want to say "Repeat Sequence 1 three times and then switch to Sequence 2 on the last bar and repeat that entire combination X amount of times."

I want to just be able to hit "Play" on the sequencer and just record live off the floor while my Prophet 6 does most of the leads.

1.) Alan Howarth used two ARP Avatars (which were pretty much ARP Odyssey Modules) and sequenced them together using various sequencers. With the arrival of ARP Odyssey desktop modules I was thinking of getting two (as they are fairly economically priced) and run them together...but this also means I have to find a separate sequencer that ticks on the boxes and since they don't have keys I would not have the option of entering the sequence manually. Which is fine although a tad annoying. I also would have to run them through effects (reverb/delays) should I require any additional coloring to the sound.

2.) Pro 2. I was interested in a Pro 2 for a while but it seems like there's a lot of menu diving and I'm not sure if it can ratchet steps or can chain sequences together. I do like the addition of effects (delays) which saves me from having to run the synth through an Eventide. I've listened to a few demos and I haven't really heard anyone sequence multiple tracks at once with different patches or a sequence being chained.