Evolver Ring Mod

Evolver Ring Mod
« on: November 01, 2023, 04:03:28 AM »
Hey does anyone know exactly what is going on behind the scenes with the evolver ring mod?    I have noticed that ring mod 4>3 and Ring mod 3>4 don’t always produce the same sound. 

When you have both digital oscillators set to the same wave and the same frequency they do or might sound the same.    However, whenever you have them set to different waves and especially when you have them set to different frequencies, maybe with an octave or more difference between, the ring mod sounds different between the 2.   I always make sure to have the filter split turned off as this would influence the sound coming out of the left and right channels.

I’m not an expert on circuits but the way I understand a ring mod it takes two signals and multiplies them together. a times b should be equivalent to b times a. So why do the 2 ring mods sound different at times?   

Before I thought maybe my evolver was broken or needed service.  This week I just got a 2nd evolver and it exhibits the same behavior sometimes. 

Could anyone confirm for me that their evolver also does this? I could upload a patch or provide settings later for someone to test if needed.  But it’s not hard to recreate if you have the digi oscs set to different waves and a different frequency.  Again no other modulation or filter split that might affect the output.

My only guess or explanation is that behind the scenes it’s not actually taking the signal from osc 3 and osc 4 and multiplying them together.   I was thinking maybe there is an internal carrier or modulator wave that is actually ring mod-ing one of the digi oscs.  Let’s just say hypothetically it’s a sine wave at 100hz.   This could  explain why when you do ring mod 4>3 it might sound different than ring mod 3>4.   
(Because 100 x C1 frequency would be different than 100 x D2 frequency.)