ADSR visualization

ADSR visualization
« on: September 05, 2023, 06:50:01 AM »
Hello everyone ;D, I am a newbie to synthesizers. I have been using Serum to learn synthesizers in the past, so I rely heavily on data visualization. I know this is not good lol. When I learned prophet rev2, I felt uncomfortable not being able to see the specific shapes. Please tell me. Is there a VST I can hang on my Rev2 Track that will show the exact shape when I twist the ADSR

Re: ADSR visualization
« Reply #1 on: September 05, 2023, 08:01:16 AM »
I think visualize internally from knob positions is a better method

Let's say you want to figure out how a preset was made
- select the preset
- hold Misc button while touching knobs of envelopes and you get in display which value is stored on that knob
- turn the knob physically to a position where that shown knob value is when releasing Misc button
- repeat on each knob and envelope

Takes maybe 10 seconds to do on each envelope.

The shape that appear from knob position will have a deeper impact depending on Amount knob, and dynamically also the velocity knob
- so a higher positive or negative shape from knobs positions depending on Amount and Velocity as played.
- this is explained in manual

Otherwise there is a thread with some kind of editor here on forum that probably do what you ask for.
- Codeknobs and Soundtower are two I saw mentioned
- my view though is that idea with a hardware synth is to make sounds without a computer running
- just power on and sit and play for a bit

For all factory sounds there is a document on a sticky on top of forum.
https://forum.sequential.com/index.php/topic,2455.0.html

and tells you all those values.

Very useful to figure out how various presets were made.

« Reply #2 on: September 06, 2023, 07:47:22 PM »
I think visualize internally from knob positions is a better method

Let's say you want to figure out how a preset was made
- select the preset