Duplicate Pitch / Fine Freq settings ?

Duplicate Pitch / Fine Freq settings ?
« on: December 09, 2022, 03:51:14 AM »
Hello everyone,
I'm a happy new owner of a Take 5 and I'm still learning its features.

I've noticed some surprising and somewhat confusing feature at least for a newcomer in the Sequential world like me.

Unlike other program settings that are not accessible from the front panel, the "Osc 1 Fine Freq" and "Osc 2 Fine Freq" settings correspond respectively to the Osc 1 Pitch and Osc 2 Pitch pot.

What's the purpose / benefit of having these settings within the Program settings ?
I find that annoying as this makes more Select button turning to access other settings.

Also, why using different terms for the same thing (Pitch vs Fine Freq) ?

chysn

Re: Duplicate Pitch / Fine Freq settings ?
« Reply #1 on: December 09, 2022, 09:51:34 AM »
why using different terms for the same thing (Pitch vs Fine Freq) ?

The difference is range, the utility of which becomes apparent under modulation. If you want a slight vibrato, try fine freq. If you want a more dramatic effect, use pitch.
Prophet 5 Rev 4 #2711

MPC One+ ∙ MuseScore 4

www.wav2pro3.comwww.soundcloud.com/beige-mazewww.github.com/chysnwww.beigemaze.com

he/him/his

« Reply #2 on: December 09, 2022, 10:23:46 AM »
The difference is range, the utility of which becomes apparent under modulation. If you want a slight vibrato, try fine freq. If you want a more dramatic effect, use pitch.

But the Pitch pot and the Fine Freq setting have the same range : -7 semitones +7 semitones (from the User Manual, and from what I can hear).
And if you display the Fine Freq setting within the Program parameters, and you turn the Pitch pot, the Fine Freq value can change from -700 to 700, exactly the same as if you turn the value knob.

chysn

« Reply #3 on: December 09, 2022, 10:57:26 AM »