Trigger voltage from RD-6 drum machine to Rev2

Trigger voltage from RD-6 drum machine to Rev2
« on: January 10, 2022, 02:18:12 PM »
I'm looking to trigger the Rev2 sequencer with a Behringer RD-6 using the built-in trigger out in the RD-6. I'm new to CV and want to make sure I don't damage my Rev2.

The Rev2 manual says "Audio signals used to drive the arpeggiator/sequencer should not exceed 5 volts peak-to-peak."
The RD-6 manual says "HT TRIGGER OUT – sends a +15 V pulse to trigger external devices."

If my calculations are correct, then 15>5. Is that the end of the line for me; will I blow up my synth if I connect a 3.5mm to 1/4" TRS from the drum machine to the synth? Is there a way to get around this? Would love to be able to use the drum machine to drive the sequencer.

maxter

Re: Trigger voltage from RD-6 drum machine to Rev2
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2022, 09:55:30 AM »
If you are comfortable with soldering, you can easily make a Voltage Divider yourself. It's a super-simple circuit, with very few components. You could either make one fixed directly onto/inside a dedicated cable, or make a small box with an input jack, and an output jack, with the VD inside.
The Way the Truth and the Life

« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2022, 02:48:56 PM »
Thanks for the reply @maxter, that's not quite in my wheelhouse yet but am going to do some reading and see if that's something I want to learn. Is there not a standard voltage typically used for CV? I'm surprised that something like a DIY component would be necessary for something that seems like such a common procedure. Any other possible solutions?

maxter

« Reply #3 on: January 13, 2022, 06:14:00 AM »