Hi...I'm Bardahl...new here...cant make up my mind....

Hi...I'm Bardahl...new here...cant make up my mind....
« on: June 24, 2016, 08:55:03 AM »
Hello...i just joined up. I wanted to introduce myself. I love this forum and have been reading for awhile prior to taking the plunge and signing on.
I am pretty much a "failed' musician' and now retired, but still maintain a small home studio as a serious hobby. I am primarily a guitarist but have dabbled in synthesis ever since i got an M1 way back when. I tend to utilize synths to augment my compositions but have found myself much more interested in new sounds etc. as of late and of course DSI seems to be a the the cutting edge of design and coolness, so here I am...
My current boards are a Kurzweil k2600s and an Alesis Andromeda which i did have the good sense to purchase back when they were reasonably priced.
My Andy seems fairly stable but does exhibit the occasional quirk....sometimes i wonder instead of looking for a new synth that perhaps i should buy a another Andy and stick it back just in case. I am nowhere near some of you folks when it comes to programming acumen but even the neophyte in me knows what a phenominal machine the Andromeda is. I use the Kurz for trad sounds mostly and in its own right its like an early Kronos. I know, i know....
I am in the market for something new...i keep going back and forth between a Pro2 and a Prophet 12 and maybe even the new OB6 desktop. Its hard to make up my mind. I have even considered a Kronos to replace my aging Kurz but fear it is at the end of its life cycle and something bigger and better is coming. I do utilize these types of sounds but I feel myself being drawn more to the DSI way of things...if that makes any sense.