Prophet 6 or Rev2

Prophet 6 or Rev2
« on: July 28, 2021, 01:21:59 AM »
Im looking to get my first analog (poly) synth and I've pretty much decided to go with either Prophet 6 (~€2500) or Rev2-16 voice (~€2000). Anyone here have any experience with them? Im leaning more towards Rev2 as it's less expensive, has up to 16 voice, allegedly a better keybed and more modulation options. From my understanding the Rev2 is mostly DCO and P6 VCO (?). Is that the only reason there's this price difference between the two? And is it worth it? Looks like there's a lot more possibilities to create a wider variety of sounds with the Rev2.

Is the 6 voice synth going to be a bad choice if im planing on experimenting with chords a lot? Or is VCO synth the one to get when it comes to analog?

They both seem to have the potential to make the sounds im after, I just cant decide which one is a better over-all investment at the end of the day. This is all a bit confusing as im new to hardware instruments. And unfortunately i cant test them out anywhere near so im essentially gonna have to order them based on the info i get online. Some advice on this would be much appreciated.

jok3r

Re: Prophet 6 or Rev2
« Reply #1 on: July 28, 2021, 02:18:39 AM »
Im looking to get my first analog (poly) synth and I've pretty much decided to go with either Prophet 6 (~€2500) or Rev2-16 voice (~€2000). Anyone here have any experience with them? Im leaning more towards Rev2 as it's less expensive, has up to 16 voice, allegedly a better keybed and more modulation options. From my understanding the Rev2 is mostly DCO and P6 VCO (?). Is that the only reason there's this price difference between the two? And is it worth it? Looks like there's a lot more possibilities to create a wider variety of sounds with the Rev2.

Is the 6 voice synth going to be a bad choice if im planing on experimenting with chords a lot? Or is VCO synth the one to get when it comes to analog?