Cutoff knob is modulating frequency

Cutoff knob is modulating frequency
« on: February 01, 2021, 11:24:41 AM »
Hi there everyone,

I'm making a patch based on F1 P39 "Ice Bowl", but I'm finding that the cutoff, velocity, and key amount knobs are modulating the frequency instead. I've turned off all the LFO's, modulation, and aux envelope and nothing is working. Anyone got any ideas?

It sometimes feels like there's an extra layer to the patches which can't be altered. As you'll try and change a patch by fiddling with loads of knobs and nothing at all happens and then moving a random one will irreversibly change everything. Maybe I'm being a noob here but I've never had any trouble with the Prophet 6 or my Moog for example.

Thanks!

J

timboréale

• MIDI nerd
Re: Cutoff knob is modulating frequency
« Reply #1 on: February 01, 2021, 11:39:48 AM »
The filter resonance is an oscillator in this patch, so it's normal that the filter envelope controls would be changing the pitch. This is a usual and common trick in synthesis to use the filter resonance as an extra oscillator.
Prophet 6 keyboard, Rev2-16, Prophet 12 Keyboard, Nords, etc...

« Reply #2 on: February 01, 2021, 11:49:30 AM »
That's good to know thanks. I'm just curious as to how I would edit that though - is it hard wired in or can I manually change that?

timboréale

• MIDI nerd
« Reply #3 on: February 01, 2021, 11:59:54 AM »
Just turn the resonance down.

« Reply #4 on: February 01, 2021, 12:25:19 PM »
Doing that means that there is no pitch and just noise. Is there anyway of adjusting cutoff on this patch like a conventional patch?

timboréale

• MIDI nerd
« Reply #5 on: February 01, 2021, 12:32:56 PM »
You're asking questions that indicate you may not have studied much about synthesis fundamentals and the architecture of the Rev 2. I think you might be best served by learning more about synthesis fundamentals first!