Prophet REV2 - Rank noob problems

Prophet REV2 - Rank noob problems
« on: October 06, 2020, 01:01:56 AM »
I have searched But, cannot find a definitive guide to getting the prophet to play 'through' Logic.

Yes. I am a complete noob trying to figure all of this out.

I am using Logic Pro X. The synth is connected via MIDI to the Midi-in of a Steinberg UR242 which is connected to my Mac by USB.

When creating an instrument track in LPX, I cannot seem to figure out the settings to just let the synth play through the system. (Practice mode?) No filters, no VST or anything else. I just want to play the synth through the computer without interference in the signal. (I will eventually be recording though)

What I have managed so far is to use the synth as a 'controller'... The system will only express the sounds defined in the instrument track settings. And, even that, I don't know how I did the setup since I can't seem to repeat it.

I know that I am probably missing some very basic points here - due to the complete lack of information out there on the topic.

But, a head nod in the correct direction would be very appreciated.

Re: Prophet REV2 - Rank noob problems
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2020, 03:35:33 AM »
You need to understand that midi only carries note on/off, velocity, and controller and program change signals. So, from your midi out of the rev2, you currently only send note-info to your mac. There, it can be used to play sounds that are available in your mac. If you want your own rev2 to produce the notes you play through your mac, you need to feed the midi signal from your mac (midi out) back into your rev2 (midi in). You will only be able to hear your rev2 through the rev2's outputs. There are plenty of videos on youtube about connecting synth to computer, e.g., [url = https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uHnKLzmkExo]this one[/url].