The Official Sequential/DSI Forum

Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?

Hi all

But of a dumb question, and maybe you can't, but I thought I'd ask.... :)

When you are saving an edited program to a new location, is there a way to see what you are overwriting? From the UI I obviously know that I am saving to BANK-X, Program-Y, but I cannot see what is currently stored in that location, something that all of my other synths show me.

My big fear as I start editing/saving more data is overwriting something that I don't want to.

I of course can mitigate that by taking backups before editing and also noting the next unused location by hand, but it sure would be great if you can see this info in the UI?
Regards
Derek

----------

Prophet X, Yamaha Montage 7, SY99, TG77, EX5R, AN1x, FS1r, Motif Rack ES (with PLG150-AN and PLG150-VL), Korg Kronos X61, Nord G2 Engine, and way too many VSTis!

J_P_P

Re: Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2020, 04:13:18 PM »
Hi all

But of a dumb question, and maybe you can't, but I thought I'd ask.... :)

When you are saving an edited program to a new location, is there a way to see what you are overwriting? From the UI I obviously know that I am saving to BANK-X, Program-Y, but I cannot see what is currently stored in that location, something that all of my other synths show me.

My big fear as I start editing/saving more data is overwriting something that I don't want to.

I of course can mitigate that by taking backups before editing and also noting the next unused location by hand, but it sure would be great if you can see this info in the UI?

I Too wonder about this,,,could not found a way...

Re: Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2020, 12:41:08 AM »
Thanks. I can't see a way either, but wanted to be sure I wasn't missing something.

Maybe an improvement suggestion to Sequential....
Regards
Derek

----------

Prophet X, Yamaha Montage 7, SY99, TG77, EX5R, AN1x, FS1r, Motif Rack ES (with PLG150-AN and PLG150-VL), Korg Kronos X61, Nord G2 Engine, and way too many VSTis!

Re: Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?
« Reply #3 on: May 24, 2020, 12:06:39 PM »
Just piping in to add that I too have been trying to keep in mind where I can safely save a new or modified patch and have several times accidentally overwritten something. I've taken to saving every new patch in the last slot of U1, finding a safe spot for it to be and then loading it in with the layer edit page. A little bit of a pain.

Re: Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?
« Reply #4 on: May 24, 2020, 02:30:03 PM »
It would be nice if the current name of the slot you intend to write into was shown, I agree.

One thing you can do once you've selected a slot to write into: press the Compare button to listen to the sound in that slot.
Jeff Kellem—Typeface designer, Composer, Pianist, Analog synths, Dancer
https://1403.slantedhall.com/ | https://slantedhall.com/

J_P_P

Re: Can you see what you are overwriting when saving a Program?
« Reply #5 on: May 24, 2020, 02:55:20 PM »
It would be nice if the current name of the slot you intend to write into was shown, I agree.

One thing you can do once you've selected a slot to write into: press the Compare button to listen to the sound in that slot.

Hum...

According to the Manual...

"To save a program to a different location:
1. Press the save/load button. Its LED begins blinking.
2. Turn the bank or program knobs (or Soft Knob 1 and Soft Knob 2) to
select a new location. You can only save to banks U1-U4.
3. Enter a name for the program using the appropriate Soft Knobs and
Soft Keys. (See the illustration that follows for their functions.)
4. Press the save/load button again. Its LED stops blinking and the
program is saved."...

and

"To evaluate a program before you overwrite it:
1. Get ready to save by pressing the save/load button. It starts flashing.
2. Press the compare button. Its LED lights up.
3. Use the bank and program knobs to navigate to the sound you want to
compare and play the keyboard to hear the sound.
4. To disable the compare function and go back to the edited sound, press
the compare button again to turn it off. (Programs can’t be written
while in compare mode.)
5. If you want to save the edited sound, the save/load button is still
flashing and ready to save, so navigate to a location with the bank and
program knobs and press save/load. The sound is saved.
6. Alternatively, if you want to cancel saving and continue editing, press
the global button. Saving is canceled."

Got to try this...
« Last Edit: May 24, 2020, 02:59:57 PM by J_P_P »