Programming the Rev2 - in the python programming language!

kris

Programming the Rev2 - in the python programming language!
« on: December 09, 2019, 11:57:32 AM »
Hi friends,

following creativespirals work on the voice component modelling I was again intrigued by the massive capabilities hidden in the Rev2. I am not a great sound designer, so I am very interested to understand what others are doing as I want to learn.

I am though a computer programmer by profession, and might not be the only one here. I had an epiphany lately when I looked at the complexity of the VCM setup required, and the less than optimal accessibility of the gated sequencer: We should be able to program the Rev2 with a real programming language, with the help of a computer editor! This would make complex operations on patches a breeze, and could also allow for much quicker testing of VCM setups with different patches.

I repurposed some code I had written two years ago on a tool helping me with the Rev2 (clear poly sequencer, copy poly sequencer to gated sequencer, the like), and now have an environment where I can do real synthesizer programming!

An example on the python console:
Code: [Select]
    >>> from pytschirp import Rev2Patch, Rev2
    >>> rev2 = Rev2()
    >>> rev2.detect()
    Found DSI Prophet Rev2 on channel 6 replying on device Port 1 on MXPXT when sending to Port 1 on MXPXT

I know have a rev2 object, and it has connected to the real device automatically figuring out on which MIDI device it can talk to (round-trip) to the real Rev2.

Now you can do interesting things:

>>> patches = rev2.loadSysex(R"ProphetRev2\VCM-Sound Set\VCM-Rev2-Soundset-U3-v1.syx")
    >>> patches[0].name
    'KEY ResoPluck VCM[+]'
    >>> seq1 = patches[0].attr('Gated Seq Track 1 Step 1,16').get()
    >>> seq1
    [17, 13, 18, 17, 25, 16, 126, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0, 0]