Higher Register Volume Control Prophet 08

Higher Register Volume Control Prophet 08
« on: February 19, 2019, 07:20:54 PM »
Hi, I am relatively new to the DSI world.. I am working on some warm pad sounds and the lower to mid register is very loud and apparent, but when i play in the higher register the sound is over powered by the lower register. Does anyone have any tips on how to raise the volume of the higher notes while still maintaining the original sound i created?

Sacred Synthesis

Re: Higher Register Volume Control Prophet 08
« Reply #1 on: February 19, 2019, 07:28:14 PM »
One method of increasing the "volume" of the higher notes is to increase the Filter Key Amount.  This will open the filter as you ascend the keyboard, so that the lower notes will be darker and the higher notes brighter.

panic

« Reply #2 on: February 20, 2019, 02:02:40 AM »
The way sacred synthesis presents would be the most common, although, as he already states, it will impact the sound to some extent. The other option would be to route note number as modulation source to amp envelope amount, play with both the settings of the envelope amount (for example, if your amp env amount is already at a high number, you will barely hear any effect) and the note number modulation amount until you find the equilibrium you desire.

Sacred Synthesis

« Reply #3 on: February 20, 2019, 08:46:04 AM »
Yes, that's probably a better idea.  An amount of Filter Key Amount is best for emphasizing the highs while subduing the lows.  But I wondered if that might be the problem with CK's present patch.  Perhaps a mixture of the two techniques would work best.

« Reply #4 on: February 20, 2019, 03:19:51 PM »
Thank you both for the response, the adjusting the filter seems to work the best, but does change the sound a little more than I’d like.

“The other option would be to route note number as modulation source to amp envelope amount”