Stereo filters?

4dubs

Stereo filters?
« on: June 21, 2018, 09:31:27 AM »
Perhaps someone can clarify for me . . . while I'm a veteran DSI owner, I have no experience with "stereo filters", which the PX apparently possesses (I believe the Evolver series did too?).  Maybe I'm missing something, but it doesn't appear that the PX has separate controls for each filter, nor does their appear to be a way to offset them against each other (as you would with a Moog Voyager, for instance).  Wouldn't that mean the same filter settings are being passed through either side of the stereo outs?  I'm not seeing the significance.  Is it just something I have to hear to understand? 
DSI:  Prophet 6, Rev 2 16v, Pro 2, OB6
Other:  Moog One 8v, Model D reissue, Voyager, Sub 37, Nord Stage 2 SW73, Behringer Mono/Poly & 2600, Studiologic Sledge Black, Arturia Matrixbrute, Waldorf Iridium desktop & STVC, Mellotron Micro, Modal Cobalt 8X, Expresive E Osmose

Re: Stereo filters?
« Reply #1 on: June 21, 2018, 10:30:19 AM »
The most obvious use of stereo filtering is to ensure that the stereo image established for a voice before filtering is preserved.  If I start with a stereo sample and have only one filter for the voice then the two channels are summer prior to filtering and there’s no way to recreate the original stereo image.  You can pan the filter output, but each voice would still be a mono signal at a designated position in the stereo field.

So with the introduction of stereo samples it’s really important to preserve the original content.  There are other benefits as well, since a voice is composed of two sampled instruments and two DSP oscillators.  Each of these can be independently positioned in the stereo image prior to filtering.  Being able to have two retuned oscillators in a voice, one panned hard left and one hard right, creates a wide stereo image within a single voice even without considering samples.