Create Shepard Tone

Create Shepard Tone
« on: May 08, 2018, 02:33:51 PM »
Hi All,

Has anybody got an idea how to create a Shepard Tone "aka infinite scale' on the Prophet Rev2?

It seemed so easy making it with the Microkorg (video below) but somehow I could not replicate the effect on the Prophet.

Thank you!

Sacred Synthesis

Re: Create Shepard Tone
« Reply #1 on: May 08, 2018, 08:13:38 PM »
The link says, "This video does not exist".

shiihs

• phasing in and out of reality
« Reply #2 on: May 09, 2018, 04:47:27 AM »
The link says, "This video does not exist".

This link works for me:

Having said that, it may not be possible on rev2 because it appears to rely on some "endless scale"
feature of the microkorg which to the best of my knowledge has no equivalent on a rev2 (but don't take
my word for it - i'm a beginner myself).
--
gear: prophet rev2 16 voice, kawai NV10, casio wk-7600, Roland Integra-7, supercollider, ardour

links:

https://www.youtube.com/stefaanhimpe
https://soundcloud.com/stefaanhimpe
https://technogems.blogspot.com
https://a-touch-of-music.blogspot.com/

« Reply #3 on: May 09, 2018, 07:55:19 AM »
I've watched the video below instead (done and explained on a modular system), and realized that it wouldn't be possible on a REV2 because it's not possible to control the VCA levels of each oscillator independently. I tried to get another way to control the volume of each oscillator spearately but couldn't come up with a way to do that. If someone has an idea how, I'm all ears.

Oberheim OB-X8, Minimoog D (vintage), OB6 (Desktop), Oberheim Matrix-6 (MIDI Controller for OB6), VC340

« Reply #4 on: May 09, 2018, 07:59:23 AM »