Can I use the prophet for midi like this?

Can I use the prophet for midi like this?
« on: January 15, 2018, 01:44:49 PM »
hey guys,

I'm pretty new to hardware synths. Been playing software synths in my live set for awhile now.
I just got a prophet Rev2 and I love it.

What I would like to be able to do is use the prophet as a midi controller and also use it's onboard sound.

I know that I can send and receive midi, so I could layer my software synths on top of the prophet tone. Or I could turn off local control and switch midi channels and only play soft synth, or only the prophet.

But could I for example, make a midi loop for the prophet to play and have it continue to play while I switch channels and play a separate software line over top, all using the prophet keyboard?

Hope that made sense

Thanks!

BTW I'm using Ableton 9

Gerry Havinga

• Really enjoying creating sounds and composing.
    • For the love of electronic music
Re: Can I use the prophet for midi like this?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2018, 11:00:08 PM »
hey guys,

I'm pretty new to hardware synths. Been playing software synths in my live set for awhile now.

What I would like to be able to do is use the prophet as a midi controller and also use it's onboard sound.

I know that I can send and receive midi, so I could layer my software synths on top of the prophet tone. Or I could turn off local control and switch midi channels and only play soft synth, or only the prophet.

But could I for example, make a midi loop for the prophet to play and have it continue to play while I switch channels and play a separate software line over top, all using the prophet keyboard?

Hope that made sense

Thanks!

BTW I'm using Ableton 9
Welcome! It's fun playing with hardware synths :).