Transmit Sequencer data via MIDI out

Transmit Sequencer data via MIDI out
« on: September 09, 2017, 04:34:12 PM »
This question may have been already asked so bear with me... I'm a newbie to the Prophet 6 Forum.

OK, I've tried everything but I can't seem to get my P6 sequencer to drive another hardware module via MIDI (Roland JV-1080).  I've messed with all of the obvious MIDI settings (channel, clock, USB/MIDI, etc.) per the manual and no luck.  The manual seems to hint at sequencer data being included in the MIDI data stream but I'm not seeing it on Midi-OX.

Does the MIDI spec. in v1.4 support this or is this just wishful thinking on my part and I am basically SOL?

Thank

Re: Transmit Sequencer data via MIDI out
« Reply #1 on: October 18, 2017, 08:40:08 AM »
Last word that i heard on this issue is its still not been implemented.  Sequencer note data via midi out.  Hard to believe on a $2.8k machine huh? Sorry to be the bringer of bad news.

« Reply #2 on: October 26, 2017, 07:04:10 PM »
yes... waiting for years to have this finally done...

« Reply #3 on: April 21, 2018, 12:01:52 PM »
yes... waiting for years to have this finally done...

Yes I find this unbelievable. I just bought a prophet 6 in large part for it's simple arp and sequencer.  Finding out they don't send MIDI out is kind of a deal breaker.  I might return it.

I am curious about this as well...while I didn't buy my DSI synth for the sequencer, I had imagined that moving MIDI files in and out of the box would be straightforward (like even, e.g., composing on Sibelius, saving as a *.mid, and then loading it into a voice).

Is there some fundamental reason why this isn't possible, or just because nobody has done it? I can imagine the possibilities...for example, using Melodyne to capture cool riffs and then re-voice them on a synth...