Using CV/Gate from an external sequencer

Using CV/Gate from an external sequencer
« on: August 29, 2017, 02:30:03 PM »
Hey guys, I have an analog keys which has an amazing step sequencer with CV/Gate output and I was wondering if it's possible to use it to trigger notes, chords and other things on the REV2. I know the REV2 has a 5V CV that seems to be for modulation but can I use it to trigger notes? Thanks!!
« Last Edit: August 29, 2017, 02:43:54 PM by trashdinner »

Re: Using CV/Gate from an external sequencer
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2017, 07:36:29 AM »
I use an akai MPC X to trigger the REV2 so I'd say yeah bro...

« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2017, 10:39:42 AM »
I use an akai MPC X to trigger the REV2 so I'd say yeah bro...
Thanks for the reply, would you be kind enough to tell me the specifics? I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to CV Gate and a DSI rep told me not to exeed 5V or I could fry the synth so I don't want to mess around :P

LoboLives

« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2017, 10:57:25 AM »
I wish all of DSI's gear had CV integration.

« Reply #4 on: August 31, 2017, 07:18:44 AM »
So I guess I'm in the dark :/ the manual doesn't really help either.

« Reply #5 on: August 31, 2017, 08:02:37 AM »
As long as your sequencer outputs 5 volts no more you wil be ok. Look at your owners manual on your sequencer/keys thingy  on how to construct a gate/CV sequence on that.

There is enough data in the dsi manual to show you what the trig input will do on the synth.

« Reply #6 on: September 01, 2017, 04:09:19 AM »
As I understand it, you might be able to use a gate signal to trigger the Rev 2's own sequencer but I don't think it's possible to the Analog Keys CV/Gate output to sequence the Rev 2 like you would a traditional analog monophonic synth with dedicated CV/Gate inputs.