Ableton Live vs Reaper

chysn

Ableton Live vs Reaper
« on: July 23, 2017, 06:46:53 AM »
Way back about a zillion years ago, circa 2006, I got an Ableton Live Lite 4 license for free with some M-Audio product. As the years have gone on, Ableton has kept upgrading this license, for some reason. This morning, I noticed that I have a license for Live Lite 8, so I downloaded it to give Live another chance.

I did not like Live 4. Maybe I wasn't familiar enough with DAW recording, or something. But I love Live 8. My point of comparison is Reaper. I've been using Reaper for a couple years. I get by with Reaper okay, but I'm in sort of a constant cycle of re-learning how to do things. Bottom line is, Reaper got the job done, but wasn't enjoyable to use.

Ableton has been sort of an epiphany. Everything is easy to do. Virtual instruments can just be dropped onto a track. The settings are right there on the same screen. The view can be switched from horizontal to vertical with a nice set of buttons. Everything (like, everything) has a help blurb as you scroll over it.

To be perfectly clear, I don't think that Live is a better product than Reaper is. Reaper seems like a more complete and flexible recording system. But as a composition tool, I really like Live's workflow. I might update to Live 9 Intro (I think my ten-year-old M-Audio free ride is over) for more tracks, but first I'm going to do a few projects with what I have.
Prophet 5 Rev 4 #2711

MPC One+ ∙ MuseScore 4

www.wav2pro3.comwww.soundcloud.com/beige-mazewww.github.com/chysnwww.beigemaze.com

he/him/his

Re: Ableton Live vs Reaper
« Reply #1 on: July 24, 2017, 05:50:06 AM »
I can't speak of Reaper, but what I really like about Ableton Live is how the whole concept of the studio being an instrument was realized, particularly since the announcement of Push and Push 2.

« Reply #2 on: July 24, 2017, 11:07:28 AM »