Hi everyone!

Hi everyone!
« on: December 26, 2015, 12:17:20 AM »
Hello everyone!

My name is Kevin and I'm a Brit who happens to call Oklahoma City home.

I've been dabbling in electronic music since I was 15...and now I'm 40. I'm a serious hobbyist and Ableton Live is my DAW of choice.

I LOVE the sound of analog synths and for the last year I've been obsessed with trying to find the perfect analog plugin. I've been having fun with the native Ableton synths, also NIs Reaktor and Waves Element. 

I'm studying sound design online, and a guy in my class mentioned he had a Prophet 12. So...he owes me a lot of money. After watching many online demos, I got the bug. I almost bought a Moog...almost.

Long story short, after some serious research I got drunk...and ordered a Desktop Prophet 6.

I'm pretty much in love with this machine. It sounds awesome and it's a breeze to program. It's so fun. I just love how you can start out with one idea and within minutes you're somewhere else entirely.

It's been a good 10 years since I've used hardware, so I'm trying to get used to organizing my sounds and figuring out CC data. Honestly, every 5 minutes I make a sound I like and want to save it, but I'm a little scared I'm going to blow through my save slots in weeks!  I'm still trying to figure out how to incorporate the Prophet into my Ableton setup. I'm guessing a lot of recording to audio.

Anyway, I'm looking forward to learning from you guys and getting to know the DSI community. I'm really excited to be here!

Kevin

Re: Hi everyone!
« Reply #1 on: December 26, 2015, 06:31:36 AM »
Hi Kevin,

Welcome to the forum.

As a drunken impulse buy it looks like you made a good choice, it could have been much worse!

Andy

« Reply #2 on: December 26, 2015, 07:32:18 AM »
Hi Kevin,

Welcome to the forum.

As a drunken impulse buy it looks like you made a good choice, it could have been much worse!

Andy

Thanks for the welcome, Andy!