I have an idea for a drum machine (but I'm not an engineer) THOUGHTS?

LoboLives

I was thinking that too many drum machines these days are menu based but I was thinking that what if there is a way to bring back a basic LM-1/Linn Drum/DMX style layout to a modern drum machine. Combining layouts of the Prophet 6 desktop module as well as the Oberheim Two Voice Pro Sequencer as well as an Oberheim DMX I think this could work.

For example.

Take the clock section of the P6 module. This lets you tap tempo, manually adjust and also scroll through variations of tempos. Add another dial which adjusts the level of swing.

Also take the effects section. Next to it, have an "EDIT" button which allows you to edit effects for just one piece of the selected kit (Done by holding down edit and selecting the desired piece) OR allows you to edit an effect for the entire kit (done by double tapping the Edit button)

Also include the Amplifier Envelope section in which you can adjust and shape each kit piece (also include volume dial)

Just above the pads you have the same P6 patch selector. This is where you store your beats and fills.

Next you have the sequencer

This is where you chain together beats/fills/breaks in order to create a full song. You select the pattern number you want, how many repeats in has and chain them to the next one. Breaks are simply when there is a bar without any drums being played.

You also have a numerical pad and small LCD screen where you customize and select your kits. Similar to the DMX

Finally you have the pads of the Tempest but with actual drum names (Snare, tom1, tom 2, kick etc) above them. Below the pads you have volume dials which adjusts the output for each pad.