Waldorf Blofeld vs Poly Evolver Keyboard

LoboLives

Waldorf Blofeld vs Poly Evolver Keyboard
« on: February 08, 2017, 06:27:28 AM »
Really interested in Digital Waveform type sounds complimenting my analog gear. I've heard good things about both. The Blofeld seems to be a bit more of a menu diving type synth while the Poly Evolver seems to be a bit more of a hands on type synth. The Blofeld does also have the sampler type option as well but without a proper sequencer it seems counter productive. I'd sooner get a Roland JDXA for that type of stuff. But just would like to hear the pros and cons of either.

Sacred Synthesis

Re: Waldorf Blofeld vs Poly Evolver Keyboard
« Reply #1 on: February 08, 2017, 07:01:01 AM »
I was seriously considering a Blofeld a while back for about a year.  I have no first hand experience with the instrument, but I listened to every video over and over.  It sounded quite beautiful and I was impressed by it.  It also apparently has an excellent keybed.  I have interest in only minimal digital synthesis - primarily pads - and it clearly does a fine job at these.  So, the internal debate was between the Blofeld and an eight-voice Poly Evolver Keyboard as pad machines.

In the end, I decided not to go with the Blofeld for the usual simple reasons: the shorter keyboard, the matrix control panel and menu diving, the somewhat poor encoder performance, claims that it has a low output level and is a bit hissy (which can be heard in some of the YouTube videos), as well as the expectation that Waldorf would be replacing the instrument before long.

The effect of researching the Blofeld was a renewed appreciation for the Poly Evolver: its longer keybed, superb interface, flawless parameter performance on the PE, excellent quality sound in recording, and a preference for the very digital wave shapes that the PEK offers.