The Official Sequential/DSI Forum

SEQUENTIAL/DSI => Prophet-5/Prophet-10 => Topic started by: jackvoelker on September 30, 2021, 10:28:40 AM

Title: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: jackvoelker on September 30, 2021, 10:28:40 AM
Hello - I have been the proud owner of a P12 for a number of years and recently dipped my toes into the world of retro analog (w/ modern improvements) with the P5 Rev 4.

I've tried to utilize a TRS to dual TS cable to take the mono signal and deliver it to both of my monitors but have only been able to get audio out of a single monitor.

I was well aware that the output signal would be mono when I purchased the P5 but I assumed that I would be able to output the same signal to both monitors. Is this fixable with a different cable perhaps?

Any thoughts or help? Thanks,
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: narkosys on September 30, 2021, 10:49:27 AM
the solution with the least faffing that I can think of is to get a mixer.
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: HockeBocke on September 30, 2021, 12:06:58 PM
And / or get a stereo chorus   :)

Cheers !
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: jackvoelker on September 30, 2021, 12:10:19 PM
the solution with the least faffing that I can think of is to get a mixer.

So my primary input is actually to mixer - Yamaha MG10XU - and I have the TRS to dual TS connected from P5 to both of the L and R inputs on the mixer - no direct way there I guess to do a mono signal to more than one monitor.

Still only outputs to a single monitor.
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: jackvoelker on September 30, 2021, 12:12:57 PM
And / or get a stereo chorus   :)

Cheers !

That's admittedly an alternative but hoping I can just get the same mono signal out of both monitors. Surprised I'm the first one as far as I can tell asking this. Does everyone else just plug into guitar/keyboard amp?
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: Ant of 12047 on September 30, 2021, 12:32:39 PM
And / or get a stereo chorus   :)

Cheers !

That's admittedly an alternative but hoping I can just get the same mono signal out of both monitors. Surprised I'm the first one as far as I can tell asking this. Does everyone else just plug into guitar/keyboard amp?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding your question or your intention, but rather than using TRS cables, wouldn't it make sense to run a standard cable from the P5 into a mono channel of your mixer, panned center? You'd have the synth coming through both speakers that way.
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: jackvoelker on September 30, 2021, 12:50:28 PM
And / or get a stereo chorus   :)

Cheers !

That's admittedly an alternative but hoping I can just get the same mono signal out of both monitors. Surprised I'm the first one as far as I can tell asking this. Does everyone else just plug into guitar/keyboard amp?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding your question or your intention, but rather than using TRS cables, wouldn't it make sense to run a standard cable from the P5 into a mono channel of your mixer, panned center? You'd have the synth coming through both speakers that way.

You're understanding it exactly.

I've always taken those inputs to be mic exclusive - didn't realize they doubled as mono inputs for guitar, etc.

Was able to hook it up and it's playing properly through both speakers. Thank you!
Title: Re: Prophet 5 - Connecting to Multiple Monitors
Post by: Ant of 12047 on September 30, 2021, 01:00:55 PM
And / or get a stereo chorus   :)

Cheers !

That's admittedly an alternative but hoping I can just get the same mono signal out of both monitors. Surprised I'm the first one as far as I can tell asking this. Does everyone else just plug into guitar/keyboard amp?

Maybe I'm misunderstanding your question or your intention, but rather than using TRS cables, wouldn't it make sense to run a standard cable from the P5 into a mono channel of your mixer, panned center? You'd have the synth coming through both speakers that way.

You're understanding it exactly.

I've always taken those inputs to be mic exclusive - didn't realize they doubled as mono inputs for guitar, etc.

Was able to hook it up and it's playing properly through both speakers. Thank you!

Glad that worked!