The Official Sequential/DSI Forum

SEQUENTIAL/DSI => Pro 3 => Topic started by: idspispopd on July 02, 2021, 08:13:20 AM

Title: Syncing CV Trigger with Eurorack Sequencer
Post by: idspispopd on July 02, 2021, 08:13:20 AM
Anyone had success plugging in their Pro 3 to the Sync In of the Korg SQ-1 sequencer, or any eurorack sequencer?  It doesn't seem to do anything for me...I want to control the tempo of the external sequencer via the Pro 3 CV.

I'm trying to route Seq Track 1 -> CV Trig 1 and it doesn't seem to work.  Routing an LFO to CV Trig 1 does work, but it kinda seems like a workaround and I'm just doing something wrong?
Title: Re: Syncing CV Trigger with Eurorack Sequencer
Post by: chysn on July 02, 2021, 03:31:30 PM
You're doing it right with the LFO! See here:

https://forum.sequential.com/index.php/topic,5258.msg51878.html#msg51878
Title: Re: Syncing CV Trigger with Eurorack Sequencer
Post by: guyaguy on July 02, 2021, 08:01:48 PM
Another option is using DC as a gate:

1. Route DC to CV Out in Mod slot 5, Value 0
2. In a sequencer Track route destination to the Mod 5 Amount, Value 127, the rest at 0

That should provide a clock to your sequencer, as well as a reset. (Not sure if the SQ-1 has a reset.) If you want a faster rate you can set the the Seq Track value to 127 on Step 9 as well--or 1/5/9/13 for a faster rhythm or 1/4/7/10 for a waltz, etc.

Caveat: I don't have an SQ-1 but this works on my Malekko sequencers.
Title: Re: Syncing CV Trigger with Eurorack Sequencer
Post by: idspispopd on July 06, 2021, 03:34:54 PM
Thanks guys!