The Official Sequential/DSI Forum

SEQUENTIAL/DSI => Prophet => Prophet Rev2 => Topic started by: nathan.backous on January 05, 2021, 03:32:06 PM

Title: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: nathan.backous on January 05, 2021, 03:32:06 PM
Any chance that MPE will be added to the Rev2? I see that the new betaOSes for the Prophet 6 and OB-6 included MPE so it sparked some hope that the Rev2 would be next.

When I first got my Linnstrument I ordered a Prohlphet 08 module, not understanding that it didn’t have MPE support. I ended up selling it and “downgrading” to a Tetra because the Tetra at least has a 4 voice combo mode that I could play with my Linnstrument in ChPerNote mode, but would really like to upgrade to a proper  MPE Prophet.

The Rev2 would be great with MPE. Especially if the X axis could be used to modulate between two timbres in a stacked patch.
Title: Re: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: epoch2000a on January 11, 2021, 06:21:15 PM
I too would love MPE on the Rev2.  I also bought a used Tetra (two of them!) just to use with the Linnstrument.
Title: Re: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: epoch2000a on March 08, 2021, 06:13:30 PM
The "OB6 MPE" thread has discussion from Pym about the development of MPE for the OB6/P6.  Apparently he's had it working on the Rev2 since April of last year, and it seems like it is still coming along.

https://forum.sequential.com/index.php/topic,3226.40.html

I just bought an OB6 to use MPE with it, and just got my first chance to play with it this weekend.  While having MPE on the OB-6 is very nice, I realized the implementation is a lot more limited than using "MPE" (actually Multi Mode) on the Tetra, which was never designed for it.  The main drawbacks are the limited Y-axis destinations, which is configured globally instead of per patch.  On the Tetra I was able to configure Linnstrument's X, Y, Z to modify multiple Tetra parameters each, and these settings could be saved per patch.  That way I can design patches specifically for their expressive response.  The main drawback of Tetra's Multi-Mode for MPE is that you have to constantly switch into/out of Multi Mode to edit the patch, because editing parameters while in Multi Mode only edits one voice at a time, while editing out of Multi Mode edits all four voices.

I very much hope the Rev2 MPE implementation will be as flexible as the Tetra Multi-Mode is, but with more convenient editing!
Title: Re: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: Mauro on March 09, 2021, 02:32:53 PM
Wow, mpe in rev2 would be a dream. And would turn it to the most powerful and versatile synth. Finger crossed.

Title: Re: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: nathan.backous on March 09, 2021, 08:42:28 PM
Yeah, the Rev2 would be an instant-buy for me if they added MPE support..
Title: Re: MPE coming to the Rev2?
Post by: oyrgawd on April 17, 2021, 06:08:09 PM
Any advice for a prospective buyer to whom MPE is a pretty-biggie? I have an OB-6 and playing it w/ the Linnstrument is great. I'm selling my Prophet '08 to partially fund either a Rev2, which will be great once MPE is added, or a P6, which already has MPE, but has its tradeoffs. I might have an easier time choosing if the internet told me, "oh for sure the Rev2 firmware with MPE won't take more than another 2-3 months."