Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club sounds from the P6?

Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club sounds from the P6?
« on: April 24, 2018, 10:14:00 PM »
Before I purchased the Prophet 06, I posted another topic in the Rev2 thread asking which synth would be best to achieve the kinds of sounds on these classic joints. (Talking Heads "Speaking in Tongues" and Tom Tom Club). Feedback says it should be a "clear choice", considering the albums relied heavily on the Prophet V.  https://forum.davesmithinstruments.com/index.php/topic,2480.msg26827.html#msg26827

The overall sound of the 06 feels kind of rough to me, and not nearly as clean, juicy, and organic.  I am not a sound designer, but have been kind of fiddling away at it.  It is an impressive synth, but I'm unable to achieve the results I was looking for.  Is there anyone who can share some patches or offer tips on achieving such sounds?   
« Last Edit: April 24, 2018, 10:31:32 PM by BobPeru »

Re: Talking Heads & Tom Tom Club sounds from the P6?
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2018, 09:47:19 AM »
Good news!  These 80's type sounds can absolutely be reproduced on a prophet 6!  Here are a couple hints I've figured out to make it happen :)

1.  The sub oscillator is your enemy!  They didn't exist in the 80s, and your Prophet is already mega fat.  Turn it off. 
2.  You're going to spend a lot of time tweaking square wave pulse-width.  I find that there are a few sweet spots that sound really great for 80s sounds, and 12 o'clock is not one of them.  Also, the shape of the P6 square wave is more sawtooth-y than you might realize, so beware of that if you use the continuous waveform instead of the pulse-width to fatten things up.  You could be heading down the wrong path.