Best Polysynth for live performance (piano player)?

Flooman

Best Polysynth for live performance (piano player)?
« on: February 16, 2018, 01:33:44 PM »
Hi!

This is ms first post after reading a lot and already checking DSI Synths in store.
This post aims at musicians who use a DSI polysynth for live keyboard performance.
I'm a trained piano player and would like to add some analog synth sounds to my music, mainly jazz (solo lines or pads) or more experimental kind of music.

I do like the sounds of more of less all the DSI synths. My question is, which is the best for live playing? My main gig board is a Nord Stage. I really like having a dedicated knob for every parameter, no need for deep programming. I'm no expert in analog synthesis but I understand the general structure and know which function would do the change I expected.

Testing the OB6, I can say I like the sound very much. Knob per function is great. 49 keys on the downside, as well as 6 voices may be not enough. P6 is almost the same for me, but I know the sound is quite different.

Testing the rev2, I liked the 61 keys and 16 voices. But I have the impression it is less easy to program and tweak. Soundwise I do like it.

I would really appreciate some opinions to come to a decision.
Thanks!

Flooman

dsetto

Re: Best Polysynth for live performance (piano player)?
« Reply #1 on: February 16, 2018, 10:34:36 PM »
As a piano player, in my first poly, I wanted one that could approximate some pianistic elements. I was ready to go for one when Rev2 came out; and I got it. I'm pleased. (I don't really know the P6/OB6 other than played each one time.)

Programming-wise, one could keep it simple & only use one layer (Stack A), and have 16 voices. All the fundamentals have knobs. I think 16 voices is helpful in recreating the ringing tones that can happen in piano playing.